2018-2019 SPJ Florida Pro Nominating Slate

The SPJ Florida Professional Chapter’s annual election meeting is scheduled for the evening of Saturday, Aug. 4, 2018, following the Sunshine State Awards ceremony in Miami. Meet the 2018-2019 Florida Pro Nominating Slate: Officers President: Christiana Lilly The web editor at Boca magazine, Lilly also freelances and has been published in outlets like the Miami Herald’s Indulge […]

Board Member Weighs in on Newsroom Stress During IRE Conference

SPJ Florida board member Lulu Ramadan took part in a candid and needed panel discussion on journalism and stress management at the Investigative Reporters and Editors conference in Orlando from June 14 to 17. The panel, called “Under pressure: Coping with stress, and knowing you’re not alone,” featured three journalists in different stages of their […]

Board President Shares How Job Loss Lead to Freelancing in Panel

Layoffs seem to be the unfortunate new norm in journalism, and Chicas Ponderosas Miami hosted a day of discussion, self care, and networking surrounding this topic at the Ironside in Miami on June 2. After multiple members were laid off from a local newsrooms, the group organized three panels surrounding people who got journalism jobs […]

Run for the 2018-2019 SPJ Florida Pro Board

The Society of Professional Journalists’ Florida Professional Chapter is looking for dedicated members interested in running for the board. We are now accepting nominations to fill positions on the 2018-2019 chapter board. You may nominate yourself or others. To be eligible to serve, candidates must: Be SPJ professional members in good standing (if running as a […]