Paper Cuts: Surviving and Preparing for the Layoff/Buyout

Worried about being next on the buyout/layoff list? Or has it already happened to you or a family member? The South Florida chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists will hold an important, free panel discussion on Thursday, August 7, to address the crippling affects of layoffs to our industry. We will address various topics […]

Inspiration at the 2008 Sunshine State Awards

Journalists in search of inspiration found it at last night’s 2008 Sunshine State Awards. They heard it in the words of keynote speakers Mark Fainaru-Wada and Lance Williams. And, they saw it on the faces of colleagues honored for their outstanding contribution to journalism in the state of Florida. Fainaru-Wada and Williams, the San Francisco Chronicle investigative team that exposed the explosive BALCO steroid scandal in

2008 Sunshine State Awards Winners Recognized

The South Florida SPJ recognized the deserving winners of its 2008 Sunshine State Awards at a banquet tonight at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel in Dania, Florida. A detailed report of the event will be posted here tomorrow. In the meantime, you can review the list of winners by clicking the links below.

2008 Sunshine State Awards Winners List

2008 Sunshine State Awards Winners Announced May 31, 2008. Includes judges’ comments. (To download a PDF version of this list, click here.) Skip to: BATTEN AWARD NEWSPAPER & MAGAZINE REPORTING NEWSPAPER & MAGAZINE COPY EDITING, PHOTOGRAPHY, & GRAPHICS BROADCAST INTERNET STUDENTS ALL MEDIA James Batten Award for Public Service First Place: The South Florida Sun-Sentinel; […]

Sunshine State Awards Finalists Announced (Complete List)

Judges across the nation have concluded their judging of the 958 entries received in this year’s Sunshine State Awards competition. The South Florida Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists released the complete list of finalists yesterday. The chapter will announce the winners on Saturday, May 31 at the 2008 Sunshine State Awards ceremony.