2009 Sunshine State Award Winners Announced

The South Florida Society of Professional Journalists recognized the deserving winners of its 2009 Sunshine State Awards during a ceremony tonight at the Art & Culture Center of Hollywood in Hollywood, Florida. The Sunshine State Awards honor excellence in journalism in the state of Florida. This year marked the 15th anniversary of the awards. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners, including the winners of the prestigious James Batten Award for Public Service: Jack Dolan, Matthew Haggman, and Rob Barry of The Miami Herald. Find out the names of the other winners here.

2009 Sunshine State Awards Finalists Announced

The results are in. The South Florida Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists has released the list of finalists for its 2009 Sunshine State Awards, which honor excellence in journalism in the state of Florida. To review the list of finalists, go to

2009 Sunshine State Awards Update

We have encountered some unanticipated delays in receiving judging results for several categories in this year’s competition. We hope to be able to release a partial list of finalists this week, with the remainder to follow soon thereafter. We apologize for the delay and appreciate your patience. In the meantime, please mark your calendar for Saturday, May 30, the date of this year’s Sunshine State…

“Will Work for Food” at the Region 3 Convention

“Will Work for Food” was the unconventional name given to one of the most successful elements of this year’s SPJ Region 3 Convention. On the evening of Saturday, April 4th, a group of 50 convention attendees took control of the Homeless Voice newspaper. They wrote, edited, shot, and designed a special issue of the paper…