2013 Sunshine State Award Winners Announced

Congratulations, Winners!   Presented by SPJ South Florida Pro List shows first-, second- and third-place finishers in each category when applicable. ALL-MEDIA DIVISION James Batten Award for Public Service 1.     Tampa Bay Times – Alexandra Zayas, In God’s name 2.     Sun Sentinel – Sally Kestin & John Maines, Above the Law: Speeding Cops 3.     The […]

SPJ-FIU Launches Photo Competition

Use your camera to tell the story of this generation through images. What is different and unique about it? Use your imagination and creativity, but remember to stick to facts and real moments.  This is about photojournalism. Rules  The national competition is open for SPJ members only SPJ members from anywhere in the United States […]

Election: Meet the SPJ South Florida Pro 2013 Board

Thank you to everyone who attended our annual election and celebration yesterday evening at Southport Raw Bar. A great night — click here for photos! Congratulations (and welcome!) to the new 2013 South Florida Society of Professional Journalists Board… SPJ South Florida Leadership Executive Officers President: Jason Parsley jeparsley@gmail.com Parsley is an award-winning reporter. He currently works as […]