SPJ Signs Letter Supporting Whistleblower Act

The Society of Professional Journalists, along with the Government Accountability Project and 50 other organizations, has signed onto a letter addressed to Sen.’s Joseph Lieberman (D-Conn.); Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii); and Rep.’s Henry Waxman (D-Calif.); Tom Davis (R-Va.) and Todd Platts (R-Pa.) in support of increased protections for whistleblowers.

Inspiration at the 2008 Sunshine State Awards

Journalists in search of inspiration found it at last night’s 2008 Sunshine State Awards. They heard it in the words of keynote speakers Mark Fainaru-Wada and Lance Williams. And, they saw it on the faces of colleagues honored for their outstanding contribution to journalism in the state of Florida. Fainaru-Wada and Williams, the San Francisco Chronicle investigative team that exposed the explosive BALCO steroid scandal in

2008 Sunshine State Awards Winners Recognized

The South Florida SPJ recognized the deserving winners of its 2008 Sunshine State Awards at a banquet tonight at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel in Dania, Florida. A detailed report of the event will be posted here tomorrow. In the meantime, you can review the list of winners by clicking the links below.

2008 Sunshine State Awards Winners List

2008 Sunshine State Awards Winners Announced May 31, 2008. Includes judges’ comments. (To download a PDF version of this list, click here.) Skip to: BATTEN AWARD NEWSPAPER & MAGAZINE REPORTING NEWSPAPER & MAGAZINE COPY EDITING, PHOTOGRAPHY, & GRAPHICS BROADCAST INTERNET STUDENTS ALL MEDIA James Batten Award for Public Service First Place: The South Florida Sun-Sentinel; […]