SPJ Florida Endorses Two Chapter Members for National Office

The SPJ Florida board voted to endorse two chapter members who are running for national SPJ officer positions. Jason Parsley, who also served on the board and is an active volunteer, is running for president-elect. Michele Boyet, who serves on the SPJ Florida board of directors, is running for the role of at-large director. “Michele […]

2017 Winner

Congratulations to the winner of our inaugural Molly Turner Broadcast Scholarship, Simone Nelzi! In honor of the late Molly Turner, known as the “first lady of South Florida news,” Turner was the first female reporter and anchor in South Florida. After her passing in 2016, SPJ Florida partnered with Turner’s family to recognize up-and-coming women […]

2017 Winners

First Place We are proud to announce the first-place winner of the 2017 SPJ Florida College Scholarship, Andrea Cornejo! A senior at the University of Florida, Cornejo, 21, is studying photojournalism and has worked as a staff photographer and videographer at the Gainesville Sun since October 2016. She also serves as a freelance editor at […]

Congrats 2017 Sunshine State Award Winners

The Sarasota Herald-Tribune took home 22 Sunshine State Awards — including eight first place spots — on Saturday, July 22 at the 23rd Annual Sunshine State Awards, held at the Newman Alumni Center at the University of Miami. Other big winners include the Sun Sentinel, Tampa Bay Times, and Miami Herald. See the full list […]

2017 Sunshine State Award Winners

Winners in each category are presented in order of finish: first, second and third place. Awards were presented in Miami on July 22. Certificates will be mailed in the coming weeks to all recipients not present at the event. To correct errors or omissions, please contact Tim Dodson, chapter administrator. To request copies of certificates at […]