Mar. 11, 2012  

Deadline Extended: Entries for Sunshine State Awards due Friday, March 16

Final deadline now Friday, March 16, at 5 p.m.            


Michele Boyet

Michele Boyet

A message from our president…

Good news: The SPJ South Florida Pro board has decided to extend the deadline for the 18th annual Sunshine State Awards. We’re giving you one more week to submit your work.

Since we are journalists too, we know how it is. Between deadlines and that silly thing called life, you waited until the last minute to submit your work. In fact, we had an influx of nearly 300 entries the last two days. We also heard some of you had technical issues with BNC’s online contest system – and hope this extra week will ensure everyone who wants to enter the awards has a chance to do so.

The *extended* and now final deadline for the Sunshine State Awards is this Friday, March 16, at 5 p.m. The competition — open to all print, broadcast and online journalists in the state of Florida — recognizes quality journalism in the best tradition of our profession. Out-of-state journalists will judge all entries and may award first-, second- and third-place honors in each category.

Submit your entries online now before the 5 p.m. this Friday, March 16. Finalists will be notified in late April and winners will be announced at the annual Sunshine State Awards banquet. SPJ members still get their first entry free.

Thanks to your feedback last year, this year we have revamped some of the categories. Most noticeable, we have added a slew of Magazine awards and divided Broadcast — TV and Radio are now separate. Find out more about the awards and read the awards categories.

We hope this extra week offers you a second opportunity to submit your work. We look forward to honoring the winners at our Sunshine State Awards Banquet this June. Please stay tuned for more information on the celebratory event.

Best regards,

Michele Boyet
SPJ SoFla Pro President

For questions or issues regarding the Sunshine State Awards, please contact chapter administrator and contest coordinator Tim Dodson.

… " /> … " />