Sunshine State Awards Ceremony & Reception

Hosted by: SPJ Florida | National Association of Hispanic Journalists, Miami Chapter


Now in its 23rd year, the Sunshine State Awards continues to recognize quality journalism from across Florida. For the fourth year in a row, SPJ Florida has partnered with the National Association of Hispanic Journalists, South Florida chapter to include a Spanish-language division. See the complete list of finalists.

Winners will be announced at the 2017 Sunshine State Awards ceremony on Saturday, July 22, at the Newman Alumni Center at the University of Miami, 6200 San Amaro Drive, Coral Gables, FL  33146. Get directions.

Newman Alumni Center

Cocktail, with an open bar, will take place from 6-7 p.m. Also, a virtual reality booth will be open for guests to see how they can incorporate it into their reporting. Ceremony will start at 7 p.m. Be sure to bring cash for the raffle! If you’re interested in donating items to be raffled off, please contact VP of Membership Jason Parsley.

If you are a finalist—and even if you are not—you will enjoy this evening celebrating excellence in Florida journalism.

Early bird Costs: $30 for members, $40 for non-members, and $25 for students and guests. Day-of costs: $35 for members, $45 for non-members, and $25 for students and guests.

Early bird ticket sale has ended. Please purchase your tickets at the door.

SPJ Florida does not send tickets. Upon arrival, just check in at registration.

We’d like to thank this year’s corporate sponsors: