sunshine state awards

BALCO Journalists to Speak at 2008 Sunshine State Awards Banquet

FORT LAUDERDALE — Lance Williams and Mark Fainaru Wada, the San Francisco Chronicle investigative team that exposed the explosive BALCO steroid scandal, are slated to speak at the 14th annual Sunshine State Awards banquet sponsored by the South Florida chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Minutes of November 15, 2007

Westin Hotel, Fort Lauderdale Board members present: Darcie Lunsford, Bill Hirschman, John Hopkins, Sylvia Gurinsky, Merwin Sigale, Beth Feinstein-Bartl Committee chairs and representatives present: Tim Dodson (Sunshine State Awards), Michael Koretzky (student affairs) Guests: Tim Collie (Sun-Sentinel) Darcie called the meeting to order at 7:26 p.m.

Minutes of September 17, 2007

The meeting was called to order by President Darcie Lunsford at 7:30 p.m. at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel in Broward County.

2007 Sunshine State Awards Report

If you missed this year’s Sunshine State Awards dinner, you missed a good party and an important presentation by Phil Meyer, the research guru who teaches that good journalism is good business.